Warcraft

 

Today I saw Warcraft. The critic reviews on Rotten Tomato were 27% as of this writing. The audience reviews were 83%. I was nervous. Could it be another Dungeons & Dragons debacle?

I already saw how they were working the CGI. The graphics wouldn’t be crisp how we know them, but they would have the slightly over sized, sort of cartoon feel that I remember from the games. Not World of Warcraft, but Warcraft III. I was not disappointed.

The story was entertaining, the dialogue was decent, the world was glorious. Overall I was highly entertained, I was enchanted by the vastness and magic of the world, and it had several call backs to Warcraft.

People harp on the story. It stuck to the game, it was entertaining, but I also wouldn’t say it’s the most inspiring thing I’ve ever seen.

They go after the characters. I admit there were probably three or four I cared about. The rest I couldn’t pick out of a line up.

Despite the flaws, the short comings, I enjoyed it a great deal. The magic looked good. The battles looked good. The orcs looked good.

It does set up for a sequel. I hope it gets the chance. The chance better include more on elves and dwarves, but I’ll take what I can get for now.

If you like fun fantasy, go check it out. If you can’t put aside your inner critic to enjoy some entertainment, then move on and see something else that’s boring and no one cares about.

Leave a Reply

