Captain America and Hope

Captain America is the embodiment of the American dream. He is courage and strength. He takes the field against impossible odds, stands up for the ideals of freedom and liberty, and fights for what he believes. He is hope.

He stands against Hydra, a secret organization that believes in controlling the populace. Only through complete control can you achieve peace. Strife comes from the ability to make decisions.

hail_hydra_by_wlayko111-d6tb4ym.jpg

However, recently Steve Rodgers said, “Hail Hydra.”

Unfortunately I haven’t read it. I’m starting at the beginning and I’m only through the 90s, but we live in America and nothing has ever stopped anyone in America from speaking on what they haven’t seen, read, or been to.

With that in mind, here is my issue with Steve Rodgers, Captain America, saying, “Hail Hydra.”

Cap has been killed. This I did read. After the Civil War, he’s shot. As a martyr, he unified a people. He continued to be the hope on a battlefield, a rallying cry against impossible odds. His symbol may have been broken, but it was not tarnished.

This was not death. This was not clean. This was corruption. This was the spoiling of a hero. Marvel didn’t kill Captain America. They killed hope.

This is what bothers me and makes me sad. Captain America was not simply a man. He was an ideal. In this simple phrase, he betrayed that ideal.

I hope he is a triple agent. I am disappointed in the decision, but then again there’s plenty Marvel does that disappoints me (like Last Days). However, in the end they are more often than not great storytellers, and I’ll stick through it. I just hope they do right by Cap.

Hail Hydra.

Leave a Reply

