PSA: Hang out with your single friends

This isn’t a woe is me post. This is a look for your single friends post. A woe is me post is pointless, since none of you live remotely close to me anyway.

I went to my brother’s for Easter. I went Wednesday evening, staid until Monday morning. At their church, basically everyone over the age of 20 is taken. Not married, but has a serious relationship. Then there was one woman who was single and 23. She came over, we played some card games, and my brother made the comment it’s hard being single.

He went into a story of a single pastor friend of his. The friend would go home and felt he had to work. All the old ladies wanted to set him up with their granddaughters. It is a lonely life.

It really is a lonely life. Most nights I go home alone. I cook food, clean a little, play some video games, write, and so on. I have people come over almost every Saturday morning, and most Tuesday nights I’m at a movie with a friend. Then I go home to an empty apartment.

There is an ache, especially when you return home from a party where everyone else left with their wife. You look at the other side of the bed, filled with books, maps, video games, and a slew of other things. You know other people actually have someone there. And it’s painful.

While it doesn’t fully deplete that loneliness at night, when they inevitably have all the guests leave, or they have to go home, hang out with your single friends. Even if you’re married. You get to go home to that wife, husband, or children nearly every night. They get to come home to nothing, and every moment they are home alone is an opportunity for that realization to kick in.

12 responses to “PSA: Hang out with your single friends

  1. The grass is always greener. I long for the luxury of being alone, for having no one to dictate my schedule but myself. For the peace of no dissenting opinions. For the sheer pleasure of just being me, not someone’s mom or wife or driver or business manager or cook or housekeeper. Where the only decision is the right one.

    • Believe me, I can see that as well in my friends. But I really want sex, and I sort of won’t do that out of marriage 😉 And children, so I stop getting weird looks when I pick up the newest Pokemon.

  2. Great PSA, it needs to be a thing. Seems to be a norm to re-prioritise your single friends to the bottom of the list. And nights are especially hard with the loneliness, but oh well.

    • Right? I hate nights. And it feels a lot like once married, that’s it for friends. It’s always nice to see my brother and sister-in-law, where they try to have a day or two a week with friends.

  3. Oh I don’t know, sometimes I think I felt less alone when I was single… so. Yeah. This isn’t a woe is me comment, btw. Just the icy cool breath of reality.

Leave a Reply

