In the game again!

Two years ago, I was sitting outside a hotel with my phone, purchasing a year of eHarmony. It would technically happen next week, but let’s run with this.

For those who read through that year, eHarmony was a disaster. It was a year of terrifying or uninteresting women, with only two exceptions, but each was immensely short lived. I didn’t really put too much effort into my dating life, and even those I found interesting, were easily dismissed.

My confidence has been dead. I have been terrified of rejection as much as betrayal, and I haven’t sincerely made a move. So today I made a move on the most gorgeous woman I’ve ever had the stones to approach. Was it major? No. Will I see her again? No. From what I gathered she was the inside sales person for a competing line. But I gave her my information and said if you’re ever in Milwaukee, drop me a line.

I used to be that guy in high school. Most popular girl? Most attractive girl? Most desired girl? I’d ask them all out. Sometimes I even came out ahead. But I’m back to that. I hope it carries back with me to Milwaukee, but an important first step after two terrifying years.

On top of that, some awesome things are happening this coming year! I will be published twice, with short stories, through Den of Quills. I will be trying to get published through Mad Scientist Journal. My novel is flying and will hopefully be ready for Christmas (or dare I say earlier). There is a board game in the works, and that will be play tested in March. Currently working on a few base cards and such and then off to the race tracks.

What does this mean, aside from giving me the confidence to flirt with gorgeous women the world over? It means I might be eligible for a panel at Life, the Universe, and Everything. If nothing else, I will be going to get some publicity, find some fan girls, make some friends, and meet some friends.

The event, as you may have noticed, is in Utah. Why, I do not doubt you wonder, would I go to Utah when I live in the fair city of Milwaukee? My dear friend, Christine Haggerty, who has supported me and I have supported, will be at the conference, and I can finally hang out with her. She also suggested it as she’s fairly active. The 2015 conference just came to an end, and it sounds like she had a blast. So now I look forward to the same opportunity.

Also check out the links. They are great resources. Christine has been especially noteworthy, as her writing, despite recently getting published, greatly inspires me to strive to become more. You can find her most recent anthology here, Secrets and Doors. As I’ve noted previously, this is being used to support research into type 1 diabetes. It’s a good cause, and she wrote really well. If you’re interested in her other works, I implore you to check them out. Acquisition is amazing, along with her newest book through our friend’s Crimson Edge Publishing.

Alright, I think I’m done. Trade shows are exhausting, but this one has been pretty good, both for what happened in the show and out. Time to do some more editing and come up with a few more cards. Blessings on your evening and weekend!

5 responses to “In the game again!

  1. Thank you for your follow on Forest Garden today, Paul. I appreciate your visit and hope you found useful information. If I may offer an off the wall perspective on your relationship dilemma: We meet the right person at the time which is right for both of us. Your paths must converge at the time that is most opportune for you to connect and actually get a relationship off of the ground. It can’t be rushed, and you certainly don’t want to be tied down with a mis-fitted relationship when your soul mate finally crosses your path. One can waste an awful lot of energy stressing about these things- and when the meeting finally occurs, you understand the whole drama of your life in a completely new way. Yes, I’m speaking from experience here. What does help is to make an exhaustive list of the qualities you want in your life partner. Keep that list active, reading it often and adding or tweaking as you go. Believe that person is looking for you as sincerely as you are looking for her. You set up a magnetic attraction which brings her into your life. Best wishes and giant hugs, WG

Leave a Reply

