My home for a week

LA was a strange experience. There is that yellow gritty look, like everything has a film filter from the 1970s over it. When you look at how there is brown streaking down their green road signs, you realize what that filter is.

However, I am not deterred by such things! When we landed, I wanted to see the downtown area. I looked in all directions, pretty sure I saw the observatory in the mountains, but I saw no downtown. How could this be?

It took a while, then I realized it. The smog was so thick I could not see far enough. For a moment, I could make out the shadows of large buildings in the distance, but otherwise it’s too dirty to see them. I found this incredible. Even landing, there was suddenly a haze. I thought LA was super liberal! Where’s the love for the environment?

Anyway, either way, I love it out here to visit. It’s not somewhere I would live. I enjoy being in the suburbs, or small cities which don’t have this dirty filter.

However, the house is beautiful. I love it. The traffic was light, because apparently we went to just the right places at just the right time. The highway going the other way was dead still traffic.

Living Room with Joel checking out our options of movies

Living Room with Joel checking out our options of movies

The land of food.

The land of food.

This thing gets about 8 feet deep. It's awesome. Played in it yesterday for about half an hour. More swimming to come.

This thing gets about 8 feet deep. It’s awesome. Played in it yesterday for about half an hour. More swimming to come.

I do really love this house. Today we’re going to some place they film the western movies and we’ll do some hiking. The temperature is about where we’d expect our mid spring. There is a slight chill.

On the work end, we can’t send emails through their wifi, so we have to do all that work through our tablets. Not a fan. Fortunately most of the people we work with will be in Anaheim within 36 hours, so the emails will come to a near stop, and any issues which persist can be dealt with face to face.

Hope you are all having an excellent day!

Leave a Reply

