Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

We’re in a very scary time right now. There are protests, riots, executions. Innocents are killed in their grandpa’s arms or in cribs and no one notices, while highly controversial cases are championed. Browbeating is common, hate speeches occur a few times a day in highly publicized circles, and there is malevolence everywhere. Even at work today I felt stressed and strained to the limits. Friends have family members in the hospital. TV is inundated with what toys you have to buy your kids, and if it’s anything less than $300 worth of presents, you’re a bad parent.

I’m not buying gifts for loved ones this year. I’m giving gifts. I’m going to drink brandy with my middle brother and his wife. I’ll be playing cars with my nephew. My niece will be told stories. My youngest brother and his wife will get together to watch anime, hopefully, at some point. I’m hanging out with my parents. I hope you do the same.

I also pray you fill the season with love. That you tell your siblings you love them, that you tell your friends how much you care about them, that you hug those you are close to. I pray you show love in ways you never have before, in ways that catch friends off balance in a good way, which spreads the warmth of the season, instead of freezing it over.

Blessings on your holiday, and I hope you have a wonderful 2015. Spread the joy.

10 responses to “Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

