NaNo D1: First Sentence

November is the best month of the year. It starts with Reformation Day on October 31. It moves into the frantic 50,000 word turmoil of NaNoWriMo. If you’re keeping track, it started today. This year I have a men’s church leadership retreat in beautiful San Antonio. It’s going to be warm there when it’s already freezing up in Wisconsin. My nephew’s baptismal birthday is this month, and I get to see him shortly after for Thanksgiving. Being his godfather, it’s a big deal.

But, like every month, it starts with day one. Just like every story starts with a first sentence.

I had a friend who had issues when writing academic papers. She always struggled writing the first paragraph. Having two novels in the editing line and another halfway complete, I scoffed at this because I remembered my first sentence and paragraph being so simple. Then I had to write the first sentence and I stared at it, confused.

We’re there again. NaNoWriMo begins. Last night, while in bed and finishing a few more outlines for my thirty day novel, I realized tomorrow I need to put down a first sentence. I need to go through that agony all over again.

Wherever you are, however many hours you’re in, the key is don’t struggle. Don’t fight with it. Blast it out and move on. You will delete it, reform it, recreate it, because where you started going in the first step of the journey, is not at all where you’ll stop.

Good luck guys!

3 responses to “NaNo D1: First Sentence

  1. Best of luck with NaNo! I never worry about my first sentence – it’s the most edited one of the whole novel. πŸ˜‰
    Sounds like you have a busy month ahead. You’ll have to work extra hard on your writing on days when you’re not doing something special. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

