First Step

I woke up at 5:45 this morning, just like the previous morning. I actually woke up at 5:38 because my body already likes this new schedule. Stupid body.

As I laid on my couch, because I left the sheets to my bed at my parents’ house, I thought, “I can go back to bed. I really don’t need to be up until 7.”

It’s easy to give up. It’s easy to not show up for your battles. The world isn’t making you face most of them. The world is perfectly content with me sleeping in, eating crap food, leaving my apartment dirty, not finishing my novel, if my faith dwindles. Whatever your struggles are, they’re content with you giving up, too. Not showing up to a kid’s game. Not getting flowers for a loved one. Not trying for a better job. Not getting the degree you actually wanted. Not trying for your dreams because you have so much already on your plate.

There’s a song that makes me cry every time I hear it. Not full out cry, but the tears form. I can visualize a thousand scenes through it. The scenes are so clear because I understand, and we all understand. We understand the struggle of taking that first step, of continuing to fight through mockery, unwanted burdens, poor decisions from ourselves and others, obligations, and hundreds of others. I hope you enjoy the song. I hope you take that first step. Tomorrow morning, at 5:45, I’ll be taking my third. You can do it, too.

2 responses to “First Step

    • Thanks 🙂 I know I get down time to time, like during Weddings, but I want to be an inspiration to people. It’s tough doing this, really all I have is God pushing me forward, so I know how much tougher it is doing this basically alone. If I can help anyone, then it’s worth every step I take, and I need to remember that. Keep going Anita! You’re doing pretty awesome work yourself.

Leave a Reply

