Performing Rituals

I love rituals. Not religious ones (though I do appreciate a good litany), but life habits.

The human body works best with rituals. The mind knows what is about to happen, and prepares for it. It sets you up for success. My gym routine is a ritual, and like all rituals, you never want to rush. You take your time. Grab two towels going into the locker room. The act of undressing in the locker room is shoes, socks, shirt, pants. Put the swimsuit on. It’s the only part of the ritual I rush. I hang my pants and shirt up.

I go into the shower and let the water cascade over me, then I apply soap, head down, and rinse. Another thirty seconds just to feel nice. Dry with towel #1. Enter the pool area and pick out a lane. Hang my towels and locker key on the same peg every time. No one else uses the pegs right by the pool.

Jump in. Dunk myself underwater. Dip my goggles. Lick my thumb and rub the inside of my left then right lens. Put on my goggles and make sure suction takes (it sucks when the suction isn’t right, and it’s always the right side, a slow leaking which comes burdened with the knowledge of inevitability).

Swim 150m breast stroke. This is three full laps. Walk the lane. Ten seconds right arm across, ten seconds right arm up, turn around, ten seconds left arm across, ten seconds left arm up. Pull up left than right leg to stretch thigh. Against the wall stretch calves then hamstring. Swim 200m breast stroke, stretch again. Swim 200m breast stroke. 50m side stroke because my left arm is puny in comparison to the right. 100m freestyle. Stretch. Hot tub for five to ten minutes, shower, avoid naked old men, get dressed, and get a protein drink. I keep adding to the meters of the routine. I want to be at a thousand, or whatever I can swim in an hour. It takes around 45 minutes to complete the current routine.

This is my ritual, my holy rite of working out which has caused me to get very close to being where I was over a year ago. My gut is finally looking smaller, it jiggles more instead of being firm fat. Good times.

What rituals do you have? Do you take your time and does it frustrate you when they get interrupted?

10 responses to “Performing Rituals

  1. What? No mention of our awesome ritualistic sacrifice of horrible writing to the Gods of Literature? I’m disappointed and so are the Gods of Literature. Beware their wrath. 😛

Leave a Reply

