Use Your Gifts

You have to watch this video. Made me tear up a little. I wish I could embed it, but it’s saying the site doesn’t exist.

In general I adore Lindsey Stirling. I’m not a huge fan of her music videos, but she’s immensely talented and does some amazing remixes of video game music. Another thing I admire is her music videos are fun. She really goes all out and doesn’t hold back. It shows. We should all be that passionate about something.

Anyway, the real emphasis here is Kuha’o. There’s a kid with amazing talent, despite a heavy set back, and he doesn’t give a flying hoot what others think. Again, what if more of us were this honest with ourselves?

I have a friend right now. She has a lot of set backs, but she strives forward to get a gainful job, actually her dream job. Every time she makes progress, something drags her down. But she keeps fighting to do what she loves. So fight for you passion, and if you need to find passion, make it exist. But love with all you have and show the world your talents. They’re numerous and God didn’t give you them to be buried.

Blessings on you and your holiday. May your gifts bring fulfillment to those around you and to yourself.

Paul

4 responses to “Use Your Gifts

  1. I love her so much I bought her album off Amazon. The violin is one of my absolute favorite instrument, but more than that is the message of this piece. I can really empathize, being in a wheelchair and knowing that it isn’t the end of FA’s progression is one of the things that I live with everyday and side-affects of the displayed seep into my writing. I can’t type as fast or clean as I used to, I can’t write with a pen and so on and so forth, but it hasn’t stopped me — if anything it is a fire under my tush.

  2. Beautiful. I know what it’s like to have so many setbacks and have everyone tell you which way you ought to go. I’m tired of having the world direct my life. I want to use the talents God has given me, not bury them like you said. I worry a lot of people particularly my dad. He’s had a pretty hard life and had so many dreams crushed because of a selfish mother, but sadly, I don’t think he realizes just how much he’s become her. I can tell he’s been broken, and the only way he copes is to work until he’s too tired to do anything but sit and watch TV until bedtime. He wasn’t always like this. I remember he used to be very active in sports and in church. Life got to him, as did his dysfunctional past.

    It would be nice to have his support, but he just wants me to follow the same path he did. Mom’s no longer here. She’s so much like me. Even at the end of her life she tried to do her best to enjoy it and do the things she was best at. She had an incredible amount of setbacks herself but did what she could.

    When I first read about your “friend” I immediately thought it was me you were talking about. It really hit home. I hope your friend is well and finds her way. ^_^

    I’m glad I got to talk to you the other day even though it was like only seven minutes. I always get excited when I have a new friend and want to know everything about them (but then if I try to do any more of those lengthy emails, I’m afraid I won’t have time for anything else. I can be very long-winded at times!) I hope the weather and timing are better next time!

    Sweet blessings to you!

    ~Lily~

    • It’s amazing to watch people persevere. We all have it in us, though it’d be nice if it were easier to tap without having immensely detrimental odds crashing against us. No doubt you’ll do great things. Just get out there and get it done. I need to personally start working out and focusing on my writing more than I have been.

Leave a Reply

