Thankful

It’s been a long year. There have been incredibly painful and joyful moments. These are a few of the major things I’m thankful for in the past year.

God, Christ, and a loneliness and hurt that allowed me a closer relationship and stronger faith.

The desire to seriously get publish along with the taking the steps to do it.

Traveling to Guatemala to spread the love of Christ. And build a house.

Meeting unique people and finding future stories through online dating.

Self confidence.

My brothers, sister-in-laws, niece, nephew, and awesome parents. Lots of love.

Determination and conviction. It’s why I completed Tough Mudder and NaNoWriMo.  They both require grit, even if entirely different kinds.

For a job that can easily support me.

New car and awesome man cave apartment.

To awesome guest blog and short story opportunities.

The absolutely beautiful snow and winter wonderland, despite it only being Thanksgiving. It’s gorgeous out. Might have to take little man on a walk tomorrow or Saturday through it.

There are numerous other things. Every day is a blessing, no matter how hard yesterday was. Because as long as you’re still breathing, it can all be improved. To the glory of God.

Blessings on your Thanksgiving,
Paul

8 responses to “Thankful

  1. I can certainly attest to the first one on your list. I’m learning to loosen my grip bit by bit and let God take over. I still have a long ways to go trying to pick my life back up after being unemployed for a long for over a year. I’m also thankful for new opportunities and new friends, including you. 🙂

    ~Lily~

  2. Aw, huzzah! I’m enjoying everyone’s posts about thankfulness so much! It’s got me all caught up in the warm fuzzies and such. Guatemala is the best… I need to get back there, though I did not build anyone a home while I was there :-/ and I love that you included your man cave on this list…

  3. Pingback: Group Therapy: November’s Top Comments « HACKER. NINJA. HOOKER. SPY.

  4. Great post. Just a note on the bitterness and resentment, lack of forgiveness from your other post. Someone once told me that holding onto unforgiveness is like drinking poison and expecting the other person to get sick. Just sayin’…

    One thing I’ve learned from God is how unendingly He forgives me, He grants me mercy and grace when I never, ever deserve it. My cup overflows with it. That overflow of forgiveness you pass along isn’t from you, it’s from Him. And holding onto it is never justified, no matter what your peeps say. 😉

Leave a Reply

