Must See Movies of the Season!

I haven’t seen a movie in a good long while. They just haven’t interested me, or by the time I realize they’re in theaters, it’s because of an announcement of the bluray release. However, this time of year I get immensely festive. Not even Christmas. There are a lot of great seasonal movies right now!

Tonight I’m fairly sure I’ll be watching The Nightmare Before Christmas. It’s time to reacquaint myself with the Pumpkin King. Currently listening to the Manson remix. Love the remix CD for it. After that I’ll sing “What’s This?” I love singing that song. So much. If you need a great, seasonal movie, watch it. Since Christmas has now overtaken Halloween, it’s always good to remember when Halloween nearly overtook Christmas. To say the least, despite my mom’s love of Santa, my view of Christmas is altered. A little.

November fifth! Remember, remember, the fifth of November. I’ll be watching V for Vendetta. You’ve never seen it?! This is tragic. All should remember the fifth of November, gunpowder treason and plot. I very much so believe I shall watch that while working on my novel for Nano. Maybe have a shindig where I’m really boring, but soaking in the revolutionary vibe of those around me.

I’ve also been heavily getting into music. “Short Change Hero” is an incredible song by an amazing UK band, The Heavy. It’s the introduction for Borderlands 2 and was pretty much the reason I bought the game. Unfortunately the game didn’t hold my interest. I think I’m a level 10. However, it is inspired as far as characters, I just don’t enjoy that style of game. I love Moxxi. I’m going to marry her. Along with a dozen other women. We’ll see which one wins, but my money’s on Moxxi. She’s crazy. I hope you’re listening to the song. It’s incredible. But I love you like the way I love you and I suffer, but I ain’t ganna cut you cuz this ain’t no place for no hero. This ain’t no place for no better man. Love it.

November and December become a wasteland after that. Nano will be in full swing, and there really isn’t anything until Winter Solstice. Then I run around naked through the snow and corn fields under the full moon, howling and pounding my chest. Just kidding, ladies, don’t get too excited. Or terrified. I’ll be honest, I’m sure that was the scariest thing you’ve heard this Halloween. But I do enjoy celebrating Winter Solstice. Will likely have a pre-Christmas party on it (I do celebrate Christmas as well, as I’m Christian, but my celebration of Solstice has a strange history I greatly embrace, and there was never nudity involved).

What are your movies and celebrations this time of year? Do you have any strange traditions you absolutely love and could never give up? Let me know what they are! Would love to hear them.

3 responses to “Must See Movies of the Season!

  1. Mmmm yes, V for Vendetta. I will totally be watching that for Guy Fawkes day. It’s also my best friend’s birthday– I always remember remember.

    I don’t have any Halloween-ish traditions but I do try to fit in a day-long Lord of the Rings marathon every fall… Just have to find someone willing to geek out with me for 13 hours.

Leave a Reply

