Note Cards

I wrote upon a note card how life was, as I couldn’t stop thinking about you. I sent it by tossing it up and it disappeared. I don’t know how, but I know that’s how I could get it to you.

I returned in a puff of smoke, your response on the other side. It was full of life and passion. It was a truthful answer. It was something I hadn’t received since before August. Since before you left. I couldn’t have been happier. I can’t remember what was on it, there was nothing about getting back together, but there was a passionate, unguarded answer. That’s all I wanted. That’s why I couldn’t stay. But in that moment, it was as it was, as it should be.

Then I woke up to Desmond’s crying, having had a nightmare. To my back aching seemingly no matter what position I attempted, to the clock saying it was 4:30. My roommate was getting married. My apartment would be empty from this day forth.

Leave a Reply

