Writers have homework too

Wrote an article at the amazing Art of Writing site. Take a look. They have other incredible articles as well.

Broken Mirrors

I went up north for a writing get away. I was having issues with my opening and what I wanted to do with it. Try as I might, it was an elusive devil. So I went into our local “big town” where they had a book store. I picked up five fantasy books and a fantasy – sci fi anthology. I went to the local beer garden (I love Wisconsin), had beer and a brat, and started reading. I tried reading three pages into each book and about one page in the anthology. I marked what was good and bad, then outlined what I wanted for my own story. It was a research day.

While we all have different areas requiring this attention, we all do require research. That day I had issues with opening. Other days I just want something interesting that no one has done before. Maybe the…

View original post 610 more words

Leave a Reply

