The Etiquette of Unfollowing

What is the etiquette for unfollowing someone? I don’t mean it to hurt their feelings. I don’t mean it as a bash. I think these people are neat in their way and do not mean ill will. However, I never read what they write. I skip it. Meanwhile, it’s choking out my feed so sometimes I miss out on people I’m desperately trying to pay attention to. Should I write a break up letter to them letting them know why I’m leaving and that I hope it’s on mutual terms? I know they pay attention to followers, and I know they find it a little hurtful when people stop following, but my feed has only so much room. It’s a horrible dilemma which will likely end up in me simply unfollowing.

Should you wish to unfollow me, I will not be offended. I know some of what I write is garbage. At times I offend the senses. To be honest, I don’t pay that much attention to how many followers I have anyway. I mean, I do, but unless I go from 200 to 199, I’m likely to not even notice. This isn’t because I don’t care about each and every one of the currently 202 people following me. I’m just not that good at remembering stuff.

Have a great fourth! Blow stuff up. Try to make sure you don’t blow up yourself and the people you love. Strangers are a gray area.

8 responses to “The Etiquette of Unfollowing

  1. I think it’s fine to simply unfollow. It’s just part of being a writer on this platform. People unfollow me all the time. I know when a post must be crap because my number goes down almost immediately… I think the most was 5 unfollows for one post.

    I have my setting set to “receive no emails” from anyone initially, and then I edit my list of follows and change it for people I definitely don’t want to miss. So I get an email whenever you post, Paul, and maybe 3 or 4 other people. I find it’s a good solution when you don’t want to unfollow but you also don’t want to lose the people you read regularly. I still browse my reader of the people I’m following, of course πŸ™‚

    • Very wise. I get your emails as well. It started out as a mistake, but they’re worth it πŸ˜‰ Thanks for the input!

      PS: Super glad you’re posting again. You dropped off for a while. I know life was getting busy. Hope it settled.

      • And by mistake, I just didn’t know what I was doing. Not like, I didn’t want to follow like that. I was a young and naive blogger and was randomly clicking stuff. πŸ˜‰

  2. I would just unfollow them.. unless it’s me, then you must beg me to let you go. Haha!
    But seriously, the suggestion above is a good one. I’d go with that. πŸ™‚

  3. I think its fine too – I notice sometimes my follower number goes down by one or two and I assume either someone has unfollowed as what drew them initially to me isn’t typical of what I write, or sometimes people stop having their blogs too, so you never really know. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

