Fire Dancer

Fire Dancer

You barely know me.
I barely know you.
I watch you and
Hope you’ll watch me too.

When you do, my heart dances
As you dance.
I’m set ablaze, as you are.
But then I found out why you’re a fire dancer.

His arms hold you, and mine are empty,
Wishing you would see them.
We did not flirt. There was no fling.
There was only my heart, captivated in my own cage.

So I say good bye, fire dancer.
Good bye my sweet and childish love,
For you are on fire, dancing away,
And I am still but small and smoldering ashes.

Leave a Reply

